HT process, density and viscosity functions, units and other questions

Hello,

I’m new at using OGS and I’ve been trying to do some models with HT processes.

Right now i’m trying to reproduce the first series of models from http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.jvolgeores.2013.02.008

Models’ description :

• 2D cross section : rectangular box (dimensions : 24 x 6 km)
  • Domain separated in 2 units : upper unit is impervious sediments and lower unit is granit (more permeable).
  • Thermal boundary conditions correspond to a fixed temperature (10 °C) at the surface and a fixed heat flow at the base of the model (90 mW/m2 at 6 km of depth). Lateral boundaries are thermally insulating.
  • A fixed atmospheric pressure (1e+05 Pa) is imposed at the surface while a zero flux condition is imposed on all other boundaries.
  • Initial thermal field (a steady-state conductive regime) evolves towards a steady-state convective regime in a few Myrs
  • The initial pressure field increases linearly with depth.

I can’t upload files as i’m a new user but here is a filesender link where you can find my project file and the associated meshes :
https://filesender.renater.fr/?s=download&token=4703a9ab-fde3-421e-80aa-225de0c7b032

So if you don’t mind I had some questions :

1. When running the simulation, i can’t obtain a result because it doesn’t converge.
    I found that the problem comes with the function viscosity that i put in the prj file because when i try to put a constant viscosity of 1e-03 it works just fine. So I’m wondering what is the issue with this function ? It is the same as in the article and i checked multiple times the expression of the derivative i put in.