OGS5 Water and Tracer Pulse Unsaturated Richards Flow

Hey all,

I’m new to OGS and work with OGS 5 and coupled BRNS for my master thesis. For starters I try to implement a simple example of a tracer and simultaneous water pulse into an unsaturated 2D domain in OGS 5.

My Set-Up (in short):

The domain represents a 0.5m x 0.5m cross section through a soil column of a sandy soil, characterised by van Genuchten parameters.

IC is a PRESSURE1 GRADIENT (cross section is a XZ plane) with -31600 Pa at the bottom boundary and a gradient of 9810 Pa/m upwards (thus -36505 Pa at the upper boundary) and a conc. of 0 mmol C/g soil tracer in the entire domain.

BC for Richards flow PRESSURE1 are a constant bottom boundary of -31600 Pa and a time variable source term entering from the upper boundary. The source term represents a two hour long water pulse simulated by a Gauss curve in the .rfd file which adds a total of 10E-05 m3 of water into the domain. Additionally, a tracer is added throughout the first hour (also by a Gauss curve in .rfd) by a time dependant upper boundary condition for the tracer.

My Problem:

By running this set-up I get considerably large negative concentrations of tracer (in the order of E-02) one to two nodes from the concentration peak.