Please ! Provide a download file without geek-speak

Hi there,
New to OpenGeoSys and very keen to try it out.

From the web site it looks like it is a geomodelling package, but after trying to figure out how to download the latest release I am confused - is OpenGeoSys a series of tools without a user interface or modelling package attached?

My background is in geomodelling, so all I want is a link to the latest stable release that I can downnload and install- just like for example QGIS provides for GIS.

What does CLI stand for? What is the difference between Data Explorer and CLI with Utilities? What is a singularity container? All of these terms have no explanation on the download page and are not self-explanatory either.

If in all this OpenGeoSys actually is an integrated geomodelling software can you please have a link to a single download file for the latest stable release that users (not developers) like myself can click, fire and forget.

Hi,
thank you for having an interest in OpenGeoSys.

OpenGeoSys is a simulation platform. It consists of the main binary (ogs) that handles the simulation and is accompanied by tools, which are there to help you prepare your simulation. Those tools handle tasks related to the simulation for example conversions between mesh formats (e.g.: GMSH2OGS). However, they are not mandatory to use and it is possible to have a workflow with OpenGeoSys without them.

CLI stands for command line interface. The command line is how most users interact with OpenGeoSys. DataExplorer can be used to work with meshes and output data from OpenGeoSys simulation.

If you want to fire and forget, probably the pip installation or container would be the recommended option. The pip installation has some limitations, but it would be the easiest start. On Windows, you can download the current release with bugfixes (6.4.3) with CLI and utilities. You can also find it on the release page.