Question: 'msh2vtu.py' can't output all MaterialIDs for mixed-dimensional physical groups

Hello everyone,

Happy new year.

I have question (may be unstability) about MaterialIDs in .prj file, when I studied the 3D example link.

This example shows that in the case of mixed 2D and 3D mesh. Using ‘msh2vtu.py’, the MaterialIDs can be degined for both the 2D physical groups (planes) and the 3D physical groups (the bulk domain).

However, when I tried another example, typically the tutorial example of Gmsh link of t15.geo, it did not work.

In that case, I can not get MaterialIDs for all physical groups (I only got the MaterialIDs of bulk, the embedded plane and lines were failed to get MaterialIDs). I do not why.

Could you give me some hints?

Best regards,
Luyu

Dear Luyu,

I guess there are some errors or problems in the setting of your conducting msh2vtu.py. Please check the setting correctly before running the msh2vtu.py.

Actually, I use this tool to realize this process, GMSH2OGS. I never used msh2vtu.py yet, so I cannot give more comments about msh2vtu.py. Hope this tool can help you get a right mesh vtu. If you have any question, feel free to type here!

By the way, this part Tools & Workflows would be helpful for you to complete these pre-processings.

Best,
Rui

By the way, I found the geo file provided by you seems to have some differences with mine, but I am not sure whether it is the key, and hope others who are the experts in gmsh can help you.

The situation is that in t15.geo, the physical groups which you are caring about are use

Physical Point(“Embedded point”) = {p};
Physical Curve(“Embdded curve”) = {l};
Physical Surface(“Embedded surface”) = {s};