This is a very simple question about the movement of unsaturated water, but I have made a mistake. Please help me

Hello everyone,

I’m a beginner,After learning some OGS tutorials, I start to use it myself.I am using the RICHARDS_FLOW module to calculate a simple unsaturated water flow problem, and the model can run, but I find that the final results are completely different from what I expected.

My idea is as follows:

The boundary conditions at all sides are no flow boundaries, and at the same time, there are no source terms. I have set up four layers of soil, and all the parameters of the soil are the same, except for the initial moisture content of each layer. The top layer of soil has the highest soil moisture content, and it decreases from top to bottom. I am using the VG(Van Genuchten) model to calculate the initial capillary pressure of each layer based on the initial soil moisture content. Due to the differences in initial moisture contents, the initial capillary pressure for each layer of soil are different. Under the driving force of capillary pressure, soil water will undergo movement.

The results are as follows:

I ran the model for 24 hours and visualized the output results using ParaView software. Unexpected results have occurred!The capillary pressure of the top soil layer has become negative,while the capillary pressure of the bottom soil layer has significantly increased.